Skip Navigation
Quicklinks


Region 17 Migrant Education Program


The Migrant Education Program (MEP) is a federally-funded supplemental program designed to serve unique educational and support service needs of Migrant students ages 3 - 21. Region 17 identifies over 3,000 Migrant students in 20 Project Districts, 10 SSA Member Districts, and 27 Non-Project Districts.
The Migrant Education Program is authorized under Part C of Title I of the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001. The goal of the MEP is to insure that all migrant students reach the same high state content and performance standards that all students are expected to reach. In Texas, supplemental academic and support services are provided to students who meet the program eligibility definition. Programs and services are designed to help migratory children overcome educational disruption, cultural and language barriers, social isolation, various health-related problems, and other factors that inhibit the ability of such children to do well in school. The purpose of these services is to prepare migratory children to make a successful transition to postsecondary education or employment; and to ensure that migratory children benefit from State and local systemic reforms.


ESC Contacts:


Ty Duncan
Coordinator Accountability and Compliance
806-281-5832
tduncan@esc17.net


Marilyn Vieregge
Migrant Education Specialist
806-281-5886
mvieregge@esc17.net

 


Antonio Q. Saldana
Education Specialist
806-281-5882
asaldana@esc17.net

Francisco Rodriguez
Education Specialist
806-281-5890
frodriguez@esc17.net

Andrea Moreno-Juarez
Education Specialist
806-281-5888
amjuarez@esc17.net

Margo Knox
Education Specialist
806-281-5872
mknox@esc17.net

Migrant Education Program Fax: (806) 799-7953

We are passionately committed to developing and nurturing healthy, thriving learning communities across Region 17 by guiding and supporting schools in their quest for excellence.

Copyright © 2016 Region 17 Education Service Center

powered by ezTaskTitanium TM